Final Kurukuru squad for Oceania Champs

Solomon Star

Logo - Solomon StarKurukuru, the National Futsal team have named their final 12-member squad for the Oceania Futsal Championship in Fiji July this year.

As the current Oceania Futsal Champions, the Kurukuru will again have the opportunity to prove in this year’s tournament why they are dubbed the Oceania’s best.

The young national side named their final squad after few months of intensive training.

The squad, which competed in the Futsal World Cup in Brazil last year, also included some new players. Among them is goalkeeper Paul Huia.

Kurukuru’s crowd favourites Captain Elliot Ragomo and Jack Whitney retained their places and are optimistic about the championship.

Both Ragomo and Whitney are expected to torment their Oceania opponents with their speed and silky foot works that won admiration in the country and Fiji last year when they were crowned Oceania Champions.

This week the Kurukuru boys were fortunate to have the service of the Oceania Futsal Development Officer, Scott Gilligan, who assisted in their trainings.

Gilligan is currently in the country conducting a Futsal Coaching Clinic under the ‘Win in Oceania Project’.

He had been a huge help for the Kurukuru in their preparation for the Oceania Championship under their new coach Dickson Kadau.

Kurukuru Final 12 men squad are:

Elliot Ragomo
Jack Whitney
James Egeta
Micah Lealafa
Stanley Puirana
Roni Ginio
Moffat Skwa’ae
Philip Houtarau
Jenan Kapu
Francis Lafai
Junior Lioka (GK)
Paul Huia (GK)

Non-travelling reserves:
Alfred Pamoana
Mathias Sari

Coach: Dickson Kadau

Leave a Reply