Oceania Football agrees changes

Solomon Star

Logo - Solomon StarThe Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) made some major decisions at its final executive committee meeting recently.

The OFC has made a number of decisions as it sets a platform for the next few years.

The O-League will have eight teams for the next two seasons and it was agreed that the OFC qualifying format for the FIFA World Cup Brazil 2014 will be in two stages.

Stage one will see 12 teams being part of the 2011 Pacific Games with the gold, silver and bronze medalist teams advancing to the next round.

The second stage will pit the gold, silver and bronze medal teams with New Zealand in a four-team home and away competition.

OFC will pay the international air travel for each team based on a delegation of 21 as was the case in 2007/08.

An Under-15 to U17 youth competition for boys and girls will need to be introduced in each member association by 2014.

The executives further approved the OFC competitions calendar for 2010/11, with the exception that Tahiti would like to host the OFC U-17 Championship in 2011 and New Caledonia to host the OFC Futsal Championship in 2011.

The OFC competitions department will do an analysis on the equalisation of airfares between Tahiti and New Zealand and New Caledonia and Fiji as hosts.

Leave a Reply