Qantas Futsalroos win ASEAN Zone qualifiers

Football Australia

The Qantas Futsalroos have won the 2010 AFC Futsal Championship ASEAN Zone qualifiers after defeating Indonesia 3-0 in tonight’s final played in Jakarta.

Having qualified for the 2010 AFC Futsal Championship by finishing as one of the top three nations from the tournament, the Qantas Futsalroos were looking to add some silverware to their already successful campaign. The Qantas Futsalroos had the psychological advantage over their opponents going into the match as they had previously defeated the host nation 4-1 in the group phase of the competition.

Qantas Futsalroos midfielder Toby Seeto continued his fine tournament form by opening the scoring after just seven minutes following some good team build up play. Indonesia had a few chances afterwards to equalise, but the Qantas Futsalroos goalkeeper Angelo Konstantinou was up to the challenge and pulled off a number of crucial saves to keep his sheet clean.

Within seconds of the start of the second half, the Qantas Futsalroos doubled their advantage when Dean Lockhart slid his shot in at the far post after being set-up by an Adrian Vizzari pass.

The result was sealed in the 38th minute when Toby Seeto scored his fifth goal of the tournament with a fine solo effort that ended with a stinging left-footed shot which propelled the ball into the roof of the net.

Qantas Futsalroos Head Coach, Steven Knight was ecstatic that his team achieved their two goals of qualifying for the 2010 AFC Futsal Championship and winning the qualification tournament.

“The first half was a very even contest with both teams having plenty of opportunities to score,” said Knight

“Our players were very patient, held possession and defended well in front of a very large vocal home crowd.

“The team unity throughout the tournament has been fantastic.

“It has been an absolute pleasure to coach such a talented group of players and we’re looking forward to our next challenge in Tashkent,” concluded Knight.

In the third place play-off, Vietnam defeated Malaysia 6-3 in extra time after the scores were locked at 3-3 at the end of regular time.

The Qantas Futsalroos will now focus their attention towards the 2010 AFC Futsal Championships which will be played in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, from 23-30 May.

Qantas Futsalroos Squad
AFC Futsal Championship ASEAN Zone qualifiers
20-25 February 2010

Joshua Codrington (Dural Warriors, NSW), Roger Cua (Mascot Vipers, NSW), Fernando De Moraes (North Melbourne FC, VIC), Miles Downie (Sporting Club Vila Verde, Portugal), Daniel Fogarty (NSW Thunder, NSW), Rhys Giovenali (Dural Warriors, NSW), Greg Giovenali (Salaria Sporting Village, Italy), Simon Keith (Maccabi Futsal, NSW), Angelo Konstantinou (Boomerangs FS, ACT), Dean Lockhart (Campbelltown City Quake, NSW), Pat Ross-Magee (Boomerangs FS, ACT), Tom Rogic (ANU, ACT), Tobias Seeto (Lanzarote Tias Yaiza, Spain), Adrian Vizzari (Inner West Allstars, NSW).

Team Officials
Head Coach – Steven Knight (NSW)
Assistant Coach – Robert Varela (NSW)
Goalkeeper Coach – Roger Cua (ACT)
Physiotherapist – Michael Sette (VIC)
Team Manager – Matt Sheppard (FFA)

Leave a Reply