Fiji Futsal steps up preparation

Fiji Live

Host nation Fiji has stepped up its preparation for the Oceania Football Confederation Futsal Championship which will be held in Suva next month and will go in camp from next week.

The 20 member squad which will be further reduced to 15 will remain in camp fulltime till the Championship and Fiji Futsal Commission secretary Jainendra Sukhu remains optimistic about the team’s chances.

“We have named a very strong squad which features some of the finest players from around the country and the team should do well in the championship,” he said.

“Coaches Hussein Sahib, Tama Vosuga and James Muir will closely work with the players while they are in camp and the team will also be assisted by Futsal expert Scott Gilligan who flies in next week.”

“Scott will share his expertise with the coaches and players and his assistance should greatly help the team.”

“As hosts, there is a lot of pressure on us but we will be preparing accordingly and will try to give our best in the championship” he added.

Dinesh Mudaliar, Aisea Codro, Alvin Avinesh, Arvindra Naidu, Uraia Loki, Sandeep Nair, Siga Ali, Emori Ragata and Kamal Hassan have been part of the national futsal team for the last two seasons and will carry the experience while Osea Vakatalesau, Sedrick Dutt, Petero Dauniseka, Esava Naqeleca, Samuela Drudru and Ajesh Narayan will bank on their 11-a-side skills and tactics to make the final cut.

The squad marches in camp on Monday and the OFC Futsal Championships will be held at the Vodafone Arena from 8-14 August.

National Futsal squad:

Benaminio Mateinaqara (Navua), Vikash Shiva Reddy (Nasinu), Dinesh Mudaliar (Navua), Sedrick Dutt (Navua), Siga Ali (Navua),Esava Naqeleca (Suva), Alvin Avinesh (Lautoka), Simione Vesa (Nadroga), Kamal Hassan (Lautoka), Arvindra Naidu (Lautoka), Uraia Loki (Nadi), Emori Ragata (Suva), Aisea Codro (Ba), Sandeep Nair (Labasa), Ratu Josevata Dugucagi (Nadi), Osea Vakatalesau (Lautoka), Ajesh Narayan (Labasa), Samuela Drudru (Nadroga), Joseph Mishra (Navua), Petero Dauniseka (Ba)

Leave a Reply