Lack of facilities affect Futsal development: Sukhu (Fiji)

Fiji Times Online

The Fiji Football Association says lack of facilities is the major contributing factor affecting Futsal development in the country.

Fiji FA Futsal Commission secretary Jay Sukhu made the comment yesterday during a press conference in Suva to announce the 12-member national team for the 2010 Oceania Football Confederation Futsal Championship.

Eight debutants were named in the national team for the seven-nation tourney set to rock the Vodafone Arena from Sunday and despite not having any specialist Futsal player in the team, officials remain hopeful of a good outing.

“We want to have Futsal competitions but we depend on hired facilities,” Sukhu said.

“These facilities are booked by other sports so we do have difficulties.

“The national team has been in camp from July 12 and we’ve had a few previous camps as well.”

He said Fiji FA was constructing its own Futsal courts in Ba and Suva, which were expected to be ready by October and November respectively.

“It will ease problems that we’re encountering now.”

Star striker Kamal Hassan will captain the national team and the 2008 OFC Futsal Championship golden boot winner will be assisted by Ba utility Petero Dauniseka, who yesterday admitted being a relatively newcomer to the code.

Fiji has never won the OFC Futsal Championship.

The side was hammered 8-1 by Solomon Kurukurus in last year’s final.

In 2008, seven teams took part and Fiji finished at a disappointing fifth.

“This is sports. In pool play we lost 5-3 and it was 8-1 in the final,” Sukhu said.

“Like experts and people say our players are 11-a-side players.

“In a meeting we decided this championship will be a buildup for the OFC World Cup Futsal eliminations to be played in April 2011.

“By then we will have our courts ready in Suva and Ba. And we will have better preparation,” Sukhu said.

Solomon Islands, New Zealand, Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Tahiti and Tuvalu will be taking part.

The championship will run from August 8-14.

Fiji team – Kamal Hassan, Petero Dauniseka, Levi Tawake, Josaia Ratu, Simione Vesa, Uraia Loki, Roy Krishna, Ajesh Narayan, Vikash Reddy, Ratu Josefata Dugucagi, Siga Ali, Sedrick Dutt.

Leave a Reply