Tasmanian State Titles – Successful Day

Vikings Tasmania

In what was the biggest event of the Futsal calendar we saw some fantastic competition in all age groups throughout the day at the 2010 Tasmanian State Futsal Championships.

The event ran very smoothly and showed just waht Tasmania is capable of holding.

Futsal is rapidly growing and the interest was high from the outset with several polititians and media personalities attending the event at stages through the day including both major news stations.

In addition to Vikings Futsal Tasmanian sides from Hobart, Far South, South East, Devonport, Ulverstone and Burnie we also had teams participate from local Football Federation competitions along with our showcase visitors South Melbourne FC. It was a great day and the strength of our competitions was shown with South Melbourne being pushed in every game and looking to bring more sides again next year and the sides from other competitions finding the championships a much higher standard than they were used to.

10 Boys –

In the competition that is the first of its kind for many of these youngsters we had a very competitive roster with several upsets throughout the day. A galant Yellow Thunder fought well against their more fancied rivals as did the Invaders who made the trek from Dodges Ferry for the day. There were also some great performances from the Sonic Booms but in the end the two strongest sides prevailed with Zebras making the final against an ever improving Netbusters who have a bright future.

WINNER: Zebras (Hobart)

Runner Up: Netbusters (Hobart)

All Star Team –

GK: Sam Mainey (Yellow Thunder)

Tyson Barrett (Zebras)

Marcus Jago (Netbusters)

Sam Becker (Sonic Booms)

Blair Atkinson (Invaders)

12 Boys –

Another eagerly fought division saw some great games with Aloyprin Strikers looking very strong early on along with Margate Primary. Maniacs Revamped were competitive while the Invaders from Dodges Ferry came away learning a lot from the day. This age group ended with Zebras Black making the final along with the dynamic Zebras 11’s.

WINNER: Zebras Black (Hobart)

Runner Up: Zebras 11s (Hobart)

All Star Team –

GK: Jake Barrett (Zebras 11s)

Baxter Norton (Zebras 11s)

Fergus Aitken (Margate)

Mark Ortmann (Zebras 11s)

Sean Young (Aloyprin Strikers)

Primary Girls –

In what was one of the highest standard competitions for their age on the day we saw a wide open girls primary school division. Early wins by a star studded Jetts team who traveled from Ulverstone and Central Storm set the tone early but then some fantastic results by New Town Ice saw them leapfrog to the top by the middle of the day with an upset victory by Dynamite also keeping the rankings very close. Top side the Jetts took on Dynamite in one semi final and easily got through to the final. In the other semi final we saw New Town Ice who narrowly missed out on top spot through goal difference take on 3rd placed Central Storm. Unfortunately although the New Town girls were wearing a 94′ Germany World Cup replica strip they could not replicate Germany’s success at the penalty spot and in a game that went to extra time and then penalties the Storm prevailed. After the semi finals the traveling Jetts outfit looked like hot favorites but it was the Storm who put on a master class to win the state championship and gain the tag of tournament experts.

WINNER: Central Storm (Hobart)

Runner Up: Jetts (Ulverstone)

All Star Team –

GK: Samantha Crawford (Central Storm)

Jasmin Gorrie (Jetts)

Georgia Naden (Central Storm)

Maddi Hanbury (Dynamite)

Monica Langshaw (New Town Ice)

13 Boys –

In the showcase age group of the tournament we saw the visiting Sth Melbourne FC start with a statement in beating last years champions Zebras FC but we were quick to realise that this age group was wide open with Knights FC defeating Sth Melbourne and the Zebras FC defeating Knights FC? With any team able to win against anyone we saw 7 top sides go at each other throughout the day with some fantastic games. Good performances by Derwent Storm and Sth Hobart in some games shaped the finals while there were several close games from the visiting Kookaburras side who had their first taste of competition with Vikings. In the end we saw Knights FC and Sth Melbourne get through only just over Zebras FC and the following pack. Sth Melbourne however were far too strong in their rematch and did not falter again in an impressive win at their first Tasmanian State Titles. The Victorian outfit enjoyed the day and will be back again next year to defend their title.

WINNER: South Melbourne FC (Victoria)

Runner Up: Knights FC (Hobart)

All Star Team –

GK: Jonah Rabone (Derwent Storm)

Vincent Kamano (Knights FC)

Harley Zerbos (SMFC)

Ehsoo She (Zebras FC)

Jacob Skelenica (Kookaburras)

14 Boys –

A small group of teams formed this age group and the competition was fierce with last years champions moving up to the youth division. With all teams battling and competitive early favorites were the Goodies from the North West coast. In the end though it was Dinamo Knights through to the final against We think we’re legends. The Legends cam out as State Champions.

WINNER: We think we’re Legends (Hobart)

Runner Up: Dinamo Knights (Hobart)

All Star Team –

GK: Llewellyn Dand (Legends)

Xavier Smith (Goodies)

Daniel Harris (Legends)

Xavier Dyble (It’s Dynamite)

Allesandro Paolini (Dinamo Knights)

Youth Girls –

The who’s who of Tasmanian female Futsal was on show in this age group with some fantastic teams who are performing well in weekly competitions all looking to take out the crown. There were several teams such as Lightning Strikers, University, Aces from Burnie and an all star team from Dodges Ferry all vying for top spot but it was the team from the Eastern Shore the Eagles who went through undefeated to book their place in the final. Zebras then pipped Lightning Strikers for the spot in the final. The final was a closely fought match but the Zebras seemed to have the biggest hunger for victory and went on to win the match.

WINNER: Zebras (Hobart)

Runners Up: Eagles (Hobart)

All Star Team –

GK: Nadine Lazarus (Zebras)

Bronte Davison (Eagles)

Gemma Terry (Lightning Strikers)

Zoe Nichols (Lightning Strikers)

Lauren Grant (Zebras)

Youth Boys –

In the youth boys we had four fantastic sides with the first being Knights FC team from Hobart having several players from the State 13 Boys team which won the national titles 3 years in a row and under the tutorlidge of experienced coach Paul Woodham. They were however missing several players who have been selected in this years TIS squad. There were Cheeky Monkeys who were pretty much the North West team which competed in the 15 Boys division at the national championships under the guidance of all star coach Ben Jones. There were then the 16 year old Ulverstone team The Reds who had several senior players in their ranks and finally Knights Blue who were a mixture of 15s and 16s from the local competition. The two Knights sides played each other in the semi final with Knights FC winning through while the other semi final was won on golden goal by The Reds in what was one of the best games of the tournament. The final was all set and The Reds took an early lead until Knights drew level in the 2nd half. The winning goal came with under two minutes remaining and Knights FC added the Youth state championship to their already impressive trophy collection.

WINNER: Knights FC (Hobart)

Runner Up: The Reds (Ulverstone)

All Star Team-

GK: Alex Woodham (Knights FC)

Sam Thomson (Cheeky Monkeys)

Harry Crocker (The Reds)

Yosef Kolele (Knights FC)

Connor Meaney (The Reds)

Leave a Reply