TUFC Gunners clear in second in JOMA Futsal PL (ACT)

Capital Football Futsal

TUFC Gunners have cemented their place in second spot on the ladder after nine rounds of action in the JOMA Futsal Premier League after defeating challenges Cooma Tigers in a seven-goal thriller. Goals from Simon Badman (2), James McLachlan and Luke Fattore ensured that it was the Gunners who came out on top winning a tense match 4-3. The Tigers, who played their part to the full in an exciting encounter, netted three times through their leading scorer, Tony Aleksovski, Goran Josifovski and Dale Schoon but with the loss find themselves five points adrift of the Gunners and a massive ten points off leaders Canberra Olympic Supercats.

The Supercats continue to remain undefeated with their 100% record intact after they saw off the challenge of title holders Belconnen United who are experiencing a Jekyll and Hyde defence of their crown. Five different players netted for the Supercats with Adrian Dowling, Peter Farrelly, Scott Manson, Lee Pietrukowski and Elia Salloum scoring. Salloum’s goal was his twelfth of the season. In response Jason O’Dwyer scored twice for the Blue Devils, the youngster now on eight goals for the season, with David Kemp adding the Belconnen side’s third goal of the evening.

Canberra City Prawns were unable to take advantage of the Blue Devils slip-up as they stumbled to a surprise 3-2 defeat at the hands of ANU FC. Phillip Mackay once again found his way onto the score sheet, emphasizing why he has been called into the 2011 ACT Colts squad for the Futsal National Championships to be held in January with his ninth goal of the year. Angus Patterson and Callum Smith also found the target for ANU FC. On loan Danny Macor scored in reply for the Prawns, as did Pat Ross-Magee, but it wasn’t enough to gain any reward as the Prawns remain fourth on the ladder.

Boomerangs FS resurgence continued with a second win of the year moving them off the foot of the table at the expense of their vanquished foes WVFC Timberwolves, winning the clash 5-3. Finding their groove after struggling earlier in the season the Boomerangs had Travis Dries to thank with the Canberra Olympic outdoor striker bagging a hat-trick. Kristian Collins and Glenn Smith completed the scoring for the Boomerangs who held off a fast-finishing Timberwolves team that scored three times through Evan Steele, Grant Davoren and Tim Denne.


ANU FC 3 (Phillip Mackay, Angus Patterson, Callum Smith) Canberra City Prawns 2 (Danny Macor, Pat Ross-Magee)

ANU FC: 1. Matthew Bevacqua (gk), 2. Callum Smith, 4. Sam Carters, 5. Angus Patterson, 6. William Sheppard, 8. Adrian Stroh, 10. Phillip Mackay

Canberra City Prawns: 12. Kieran Stroh (gk), 1. Pat Ross-Magee, 3. Ryan Kyprianou, 4. Danny Macor, 7. Chris Lee, 8. Ryan Keir, 9. George Cattanach, 10. Trent Flanigan, 14. Rory Devlin

Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: 5. Angus Patterson (ANU FC)

Boomerangs FS 5 (Travis Dries (3), Kristian Collins, Glenn Smith) WVFC Timberwolves 3 (Evan Steele, Grant Davoren, Tim Denne)

Boomerangs FS: 16. Ashley Collins (gk), 2. Travis Dries, 3. Steven Klug, 5. Kristian Collins, 6. Glenn Smith, 7. Nathan Walker, 8. Sam Smith, 9. Michael Reeves

WVFC Timberwolves: 1. Richard Arvisais (gk), 4. Ludovic Papin, 7. Evan Steele, 8. Jeoff Noja, 9. Tim Denne, 10. Matt Davoren, 13. Kole Aitken, 14. Ben Harrington, 17. Grant Davoren

Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: 8. Sam Smith (Boomerangs FS)

TUFC Gunners 4 (Simon Badman (2), James McLachlan, Luke Fattore) Cooma Tigers 3 (Tony Aleksovski, Goran Josifovski, Dale Schoon)

TUFC Gunners: 1. Matt McDonald (gk), 7. Jackson Kupke, 8. Luke Fattore, 9. Martin Corujo, 10. James McLachlan, 11. Tim Mathas, 15. Simon Badman, 17. Matt Menser

Cooma Tigers: 1. Francois Bangweni (gk), 4. Tony Aleksovski, 6. Iain Elliott, 7. Marcial Munoz, 9. Dale Schoon, 10. Goran Josifovski, 11. Misko Naumoski

Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: 4. Tony Aleksovski (Cooma Tigers)

Canberra Olympic Supercats 5 (Adrian Dowling, Peter Farrelly, Scott Manson, Lee Pietrukowski, Elia Salloum) Belconnen United 3 (Jason O’Dwyer (2), David Kemp)

Canberra Olympic Supercats: 4. Adrian Dowling, 5. Elia Salloum, 6. Matthew Whyte, 7. Tom Rogic, 8. Scott Manson, 11. Lee Pietrukowski, 23. Peter Farrelly

Belconnen United: 7. Ben Klug (gk), 3. David Kemp, 4. Dustin Wells, 8. Cameron Reinhart, 9. Jason O’Dwyer, 15. Callum Beaton

Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: None


1Canberra Olympic Supercats88005813+4524
2Tuggeranong United Gunners95223728+919
3Cooma Tigers94143524+1114
4Canberra City Prawns94143628+814
5Belconnen United83232732-513
6ANU FC93152643-1711
8Boomerangs FS92162145-248
7WVFC Timberwolves91261946-277

3 points per win, 2 points per score draw, 1 point per no score draw


19 Tom Rogic (Canberra Olympic Supercats)

12 Elia Salloum (Canberra Olympic Supercats)

11 Tony Aleksovski (Cooma Tigers)

9 Phillip Mackay (ANU FC), Pat Ross-Magee (Canberra City Prawns)

8 Jason O’Dwyer (Belconnen United), Scott Manson (Canberra Olympic Supercats)

7 Lee Pietrukowski (Canberra Olympic Supercats), Goran Josifovski (Cooma Tigers)

6 David Kemp (Belconnen United), Luke Fattore, James McLachlan, Matt Menser (TUFC Gunners)

5 William Sheppard (ANU FC), Taylor Beaton (Belconnen United), Travis Dries (Boomerangs FS), Trent Flanigan (Canberra City Prawns), Adrian Dowling (Canberra Olympic Supercats), Misko Naumsoki (Cooma Tigers), Martin Corujo (TUFC Gunners), Ben Harrington (WVFC Timberwolves)

4 Adrian Stroh (ANU FC), Nathan Walker (Boomerangs FS), Ryan Keir (Canberra City Prawns), Simon Badman, Jackson Kupke (both TUFC Gunners)

3 Angus Patterson (ANU FC), Cameron Reinhart, Dustin Wells (both Belconnen United), Kristian Collins (Boomerangs FS), George Cattanach, Rory Devlin (both Canberra City Prawns), Peter Farrelly, Matthew Whyte (both Canberra Olympic Supercats), Kitsana Muongsene, Dale Schoon (both Cooma Tigers), Antoni Jagarinec, Peter McLachlan (all TUFC Gunners), Kole Aitken, Grant Davoren (both WVFC Timberwolves)

2 Sam Carters, Lukas Cole (both ANU FC), Callum Beaton (Belconnen United), Steven Klug, Michael Reeves, Glenn Smith, Sam Smith (all Boomerangs FS), Ryan Kyprianou, Chris Lee, Adrian Vizzari (all Canberra City Prawns), Iain Elliot, Marcial Munoz (both Cooma Tigers), Tim Denne, Evan Steele (both WVFC Timberwolves)

1 Callum Smith (ANU FC), Ashley Collins (Boomerangs FS), Danny Macor (Canberra City Prawns), Angelo Konstantinou (Canberra Olympic Supercats), Roger Cua (Cooma Tigers), Matt Davoren, Jeoff Noja, Ludovic Papin, Steve Zardo (all WVFC Timberwolves), own goals

Leave a Reply