FFA Nationals – Seniors Grand Finals Results

Capital Football Media Release


Friday 14th January 2011
AIS Arena, Canberra, ACT


NSW Lightning 2 (Luke Clifford, Nathan Clissold) NSW Thunder 0

The NSW Lightning provided an upset with a 2-0 win over the Thunder with goals from Luke Clifford and Nathan Clissold to end a competitive Boy?s under-16 competition. The Lightning looked in excellent form for the match and played some wonderful futsal keeping possession and pouncing at the right times to deny their stable mates. In something of a consolation to the beaten team Daniel Vellonio of NSW Thunder completed a memorable week by winning the tournament MVP.


NSW Thunder 2 (Jarrod Basger (2)) ACT Cobras 1 (Timothy Denne)

NSW Thunder claimed the 2011 Youth Men championships by capitalising on a couple of mistakes by the hoe town ACT Cobras. Twice the Cobras turned over cheap possession inside their own half and Basger was on hand to slide home two excellent finishes to put his team in full control. Timothy Denne pulled one back for the Cobras with a shot that Alastair Bruce should have done better with, but the Thunder were deserving winners on the day. Home town player Ryan Keir was named tournament MVP with team mate Glenn Smith claiming the Golden Boot award.


NSW Thunder 2 (Doris Osman, Helen Petinos) ACT Cobras 0

A sublime goal by Doris Osman gave the NSW Thunder the platform to take home the Youth Women final with a 2-0 win over the ACT Cobras. Osman was on the end of a slick move to fire home from close range and give the Thunder the priceless advantage. A second goal, after the half time break from Helen Petinos, slamming a left foot effort high into the net completed the Thunder win with the ACT going close on a couple of occasions with Catherine Brown hitting the woodwork. Elise O?Kelly of NSW Lightning was named tournament MVP with team mate Doris Osman the leading goal scorer.


NSW Thunder 2 (Simon Keith, Shervin Adeli) Victoria 2 (Ernie Simsek, Fernando De Moraes) ? Thunder win 3-2 on penalties

A penalty miss from Ahmed Azzam ultimately proved the difference in the Open Men?s Final as NSW Thunder claimed the crown. Azzam saw his penalty pushed onto the post by Gavin O?Brien as the Thunder erupted. Earlier, Simon Keith had slotted in off the post in the 19th minute to give Thunder the lead only for Victoria to hit back and equalise with three minutes remaining after Fernando De Moraes fed an exquisite pass to Ernie Simsek to slot home. And it seemed as though Victoria would claim the glory when De Moraes scored with two minutes to play only for Shervin Adeli to clip in a sensational last minute leveller to send the game to spot-kicks. Adam Husseni of Tasmania was selected as the Open Men?s tournament MVP.


NSW Thunder 1 (Renee Tomkins) ACT Cobras 0

A thumping strike from Renee Tomkins sealed the Open Women?s title for the NSW Thunder as the Sky Blues continued t rack up the titles. Tomkins smashed in the winner from distance to settle a staid tie that was lacking in inspiration but was a tactical battle to the extreme. The Cobras went close to an equaliser but the Thunder deserved their narrow win with Natasha Lo Guidice in outstanding form. Lauren Diduszko of Western NSW was named MVP of the Open Women?s competition.

Leave a Reply