Woden Valley leads the way as WFPL takes shape (ACT)

Capital Football Futsal

Woden Valley has a three point lead at the top of the Women’s Futsal Premier League after four completed rounds leading the chasing pack, which includes current champions Boomerangs FS, by three points in what is shaping up to be a highly competitive competition.

Woden was able to take over at the top of the table after they convincingly defeated Tuggeranong United 5-0 in their latest fixture. Helped on their way by an unfortunate own goal by Sigourney Dunk, Woden were too good for their opponents and added goals from Sophie Kochinos, who grabbed a brace, and the Palombi sisters, Ashleigh and Brittany as valiant Tuggeranong were simply out-gunned.

Reigning champions Boomerangs FS sounded out a warning of intent to the rest of the league as they dismantled the previously unbeaten El Diva Belwest 7-1 in a one-sided match. Michelle Aurousseau and Rachel Crittenden led the scoring with two goals apiece and there were single strikes for Sarah Crittenden, Amanda Aurousseau and Rebecca Collins as the Boomerangs clicked into gear and played the kind of Futsal that won them the title twelve months ago. Kim Crocker scored her fourth of the season in the beaten El Diva team.

Gungahlin United Suns kept up their pressure near the top of the table by winning their match with Belwest Foxes by the odd-goal in five. Laura Sofoulis, Brittany Tully and Dianne Wilson netted in the 3-2 win with goals from Meredith Leach and Tahlia Stanley too little for the Foxes. And it was a good week for Belconnen United. Not only did they hold the league leaders Woden Valley to a 3-3 draw in their catch-up match on Thursday, they followed it up with a 3-2 win over Players FC 24 hours later. Alison Lound, Jess McEwan and Brittany Smale struck in their share of the spoils with Woden, for whom Julia De Angelis, Kochinos and Brittany Palombi replied, whilst Lound, Clare Munro and jess Goyne were the goal-getters in the Friday night clash which ended with a narrow victory over a Players FC side for whom Najwa Allen struck twice.


Thursday 13th October 2011

Belconnen United 3 (Alison Lound, Jess McEwan, Brittany Smale) Woden Valley 3 (Julia De Angelis, Sophie Kochinos, Brittany Palombi)
Belconnen United: 1. Jess Giovinazzo (gk), 3. Jess McEwan, 4. Emma Heaney, 7. Brittany Smale, 8. Alison Lound, 9. Jessica Goyne, 10. Kate Davoren, 13. Bronwyn Studman, 14. Eleanor Weston, 15. Clare Munro
Woden Valley: 1. Gill Raymond (gk), 5. Sophie Kochinos, 7. Erin Clout, 10. Ashleigh Palombi, 12. Brittany Palombi, 13. Emma Thornton, 17. Julia De Angelis
Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: 13. Bronwyn Studman (Belconnen United)

Friday 14th October 2011

Gungahlin United Suns 3 (Laura Sofoulis, Brittany Tully, Dianne Wilson) Belwest Foxes 2 (Meredith Leach, Tahlia Stanley)
Gungahlin United Suns: 1. Melanie Luksa (gk), 2. Maddison Cox, 3. Kiley Green, 7. Laura Sofoulis, 10. Brittany Tully, 13. Lizzie Read, 14. Caitlin Taylor, 16. Dianne Wilson, 20. Celia Brown
Belwest Foxes: 1. Shontelle Hellyer (gk), 2. Hayley Buckingham, 3. Meredith Leach, 5. Tahlia Stanley, 6. Holly Trimble, 7. Cassandra Rankine, 8. Erika Pennyfield, 9. Stephanie Trimble, 10. Elena Casadei
Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: 9. Stephanie Trimble (Gungahlin United Suns)

Belconnen United 3 (Jess Goyne, Alison Lound, Clare Munro) Players FC 2 (Najwa Allen (2))
Belconnen United: 1. Jess Giovinazzo (gk), 7. Brittany Smale, 8. Alison Lound, 9. Jessica Goyne, 10. Kate Davoren, 12. Jess McEwan, 13. Bronwyn Studman, 14. Eleanor Weston, 15. Clare Munro
Players FC: 1. Tahlia Davidson (gk), 2. Najwa Allen, 7. Emma Beaumont, 9. Auraelia Bullot, 12. Kendall Smith, 15. Alice Churchill, 18. Gemma Matheson
Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: None

Woden Valley 5 (Sophie Kochinos (2), Ashleigh Palombi, Brittany Palombi, own goal) Tuggeranong United 0
Woden Valley: 1. Gill Raymond (gk), 5. Sophie Kochinos, 6. Kelsey Perry, 7. Erin Clout, 8. Ellie Raymond, 10. Ashleigh Palombi, 12. Brittany Palombi, 13. Emma Thornton, 17. Julia De Angelis
Tuggeranong United: 7. Jocelyn Mara (gk), 2. Freyja Jacobsen, 3. Kristy Helmers, 4. Sigourney Dunk, 5. Annica Schoo, 8. Phoebe Sutherland, 9. Katherine McFadyen
Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: 8. Ellie Raymond (Woden Valley)

El Diva Belwest 1 (Kim Crocker) Boomerangs FS 7 (Michelle Aurousseau (2), Rachel Crittenden (2), Rebecca Collins, Sarah Crittenden, Amanda Aurousseau)
El Diva Belwest: 1. Natalie Lacey (gk), 2. Kim Crocker, 3. Aniko Berguno, 4. Sabrina Spinapolice, 6. Shona Robson, 7. Michelle Thompson
Boomerangs FS: 1. Klara Manenica (gk), 2. Amanda Aurousseau, 4. Rebecca Collins, 5. Michaela Day, 6. Becky Roche, 7. Sarah Crittenden, 8. Michelle Aurousseau, 9. Rachel Crittenden, 10. Siena Senatore
Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: None



4 Kim CROCKER, Nicole SOMI (both El Diva Belwest), Sophie KOCHINOS, Ashleigh PALOMBI (both Woden Valley)

3 Alison LOUND (Belconnen United), Amanda AUROUSSEAU, Sarah CRITTENDEN (both Boomerangs FS), Aniko BERGUNO (El Diva Belwest), Brittany TULLY (Gungahlin United), Najwa ALLEN, Aleisha TUPPER (both Players FC), Brittany PALOMBI (Woden Valley)

2 Brittany SMALE (Belconnen United), Meredith LEACH, Tahlia STANLEY (both Belwest Foxes), Michelle AUROUSSEAU, Rebecca COLLINS, Rachel CRITTENDEN (all Boomerangs FS), Luisa MARZOTTO (El Diva Belwest), Laura SOFOULIS, Dianne WILSON (both Gungahlin United Suns), Auraelia BULLOT (Players FC), Freyja JACOBSEN (Tuggeranong United)

1 Jess McEWAN, Jess GOYNE, Clare MUNRO (all Belconnen United), Hayley BUCKINGHAM, Erika PENNYFIELD, Cassie RANKINE, Stephanie TRIMBLE (all Belwest Foxes), Vanh MANTHONGSY, Shona ROBSON, Michelle THOMPSON (all El Diva Belwest), Emma BEAUMONT, Maja BLASCH, Rachael GOLDSTEIN, Rhianna GOLDSTEIN (all Players FC), Freyja JACOBSEN, Annica SCHOO, Elena SCHOO (Tuggeranong United), Julia DE ANGELIS, Kelsey PERRY, Emma THORNTON (all Woden Valley), own GOALS

Leave a Reply