Tuggeranong stun El Diva in Women’s FPL (ACT)

Capital Football Futsal

Tuggeranong United won only their second match of the Women’s Futsal Premier League season last Friday with a stunning 3-2 victory over a more experienced and highly-fancied El Diva Belwest outfit in what was probably United’s best game of the season to date. Annica Schoo struck two goals for Tuggeranong in victory with Kristy Helmers scoring the other as United upset the apple-cart. Nicole Somi and Luisa Marzotto, two ACT representative players, replied for El Diva Belwest who slipped into fifth place.

In a successful evening for the teams in the lower half of the table Belwest Foxes scored only their second win of the campaign when they accounted for Players FC 6-2. Tahlia Stanley led the way with a brace of goals for the Foxes with Hayley Buckingham, Erika Pennyfield, Cassandra Rankine and Holly Trimble netting the others in a victory that keeps the Foxes off the foot of the table despite Tuggeranong’s heroics. Auraelia Bullot and Alice Churchill were on the score sheet for Players FC who will feel that they missed out on a chance to get back into top four contention.

At the top end of the table it’s as you were with both Woden Valley and Boomerangs FS claiming three points for victories over Belconnen United and Gungahlin United Suns respectively. Brittany Palombi smashed four of Woden’s eight in their 8-2 win over the Blue Devils to usurp her sister, Ashleigh, as the leading scorer in the Futsal Premier League to date. Sophie Kochinos nabbed a hat-trick to take her tally for the season to eight with Ellie Raymond’s first of the season completing a satisfactory night’s work for the tournament favourites. Jessica Goyne was in good form for the beaten Blue Devils and deserved to come away with more after she claimed both goals for Belconnen.

Boomerangs FS kept in touch with a rampant Woden though as they defeated Gungahlin United Suns 4-2. Rebecca Collins, Sarah Crittenden, Laura Jones and Becky Roche scored for the reigning champions who didn’t have it all their own way. Celia Brown and Lizzie Read scored for the Suns who remain in fourth place and would have taken good heart from a fighting performance.


Friday 28th October 2011

Players FC 2 (Auraelia Bullot, Alice Churchill) Belwest Foxes 6 (Tahlia Stanley (2), Hayley Buckingham, Erika Pennyfield, Cassandra Rankine, Holly Trimble)
Players FC: 1. Tahlia Davidson (gk), 2. Najwa Allen, 8. Rachael Goldstein, 10. Rhianna Goldstein, 11. Auraelia Bullot, 12. Kendall Smith, 13. Maja Blasch, 15. Alice Churchill
Belwest Foxes: 1. Shontelle Hellyer (gk), 2. Hayley Buckingham, 3. Meredith Leach, 4. Katrina Staniforth, 5. Tahlia Stanley, 6. Holly Trimble, 7. Cassandra Rankine, 8. Erika Pennyfield, 10. Elena Casadei, 11. Skye Metherell
Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: None

El Diva Belwest 2 (Nicole Somi, Luisa Marzotto) Tuggeranong United 3 (Annica Schoo (2), Kristy Helmers)
El Diva Belwest: 1. Natalie Lacey (gk), 2. Kim Crocker, 3. Aniko Berguno, 4. Sabrina Spinapolice, 10. Luisa Marzotto, 11. Shona Robson, 13. Vanh Manthongsy, 14. Michelle Thompson, 16. Nicole Somi
Tuggeranong United: 7. Jocelyn Mara (gk), 2. Freyja Jacobsen, 3. Kristy Helmers, 5. Annica Schoo, 8. Phoebe Sutherland, 9. Katherine McFadyen
Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: 2. Kim Crocker (El Diva Belwest)

Belconnen United 2 (Jessica Goyne (2)) Woden Valley 8 (Brittany Palombi (4), Sophie Kochinos (3), Ellie Raymond)
Belconnen United: 3. Jessica McEwan, 7. Brittany Smale, 9. Jessica Goyne, 10. Kate Davoren, 13. Bronwyn Studman, 14. Eleanor Weston, 15. Clare Munro
Woden Valley: 1. Gill Raymond (gk), 5. Sophie Kochinos, 7. Erin Clout, 8. Ellie Raymond, 10. Ashleigh Palombi, 12. Brittany Palombi, 13. Emma Thornton, 17. Julia De Angelis
Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: 13. Bronwyn Studman (Belconnen United), 17. Julia De Angelis (Woden Valley)

Gungahlin United Suns 2 (Celia Brown, Lizzie Read) Boomerangs FS 4 (Rebecca Collins, Sarah Crittenden, Laura Jones, Becky Roche)
Gungahlin United Suns: 1. Melanie Luksa (gk), 2. Maddison Cox, 3. Kiley Green, 7. Laura Sofoulis, 13. Lizzie Read, 14. Caitlin Taylor, 16. Dianne Wilson, 20. Celia Brown
Boomerangs FS: 16. Klara Manenica (gk), 2. Amanda Aurousseau, 4. Rebecca Collins, 5. Michaela Day, 6. Becky Roche, 7. Sarah Crittenden, 10. Laura Jones
Discipline: YELLOW CARDS: 7. Sarah Crittenden (Boomerangs FS)



13 Brittany PALOMBI (Woden Valley)

10 Ashleigh PALOMBI (Woden Valley)

8 Sophie KOCHINOS (Woden Valley)

7 Nicole SOMI (El Diva Belwest)

6 Sarah CRITTENDEN, Becky ROCHE (both Boomerangs FS)

5 Hayley BUCKINGHAM, Tahlia STANLEY (both Belwest Foxes), Laura SOFOULIS (Gungahlin United Suns)

4 Jess GOYNE, Bronwyn STUDMAN (both Belconnen United), Kim CROCKER, Luisa MARZOTTO (both El Diva Belwest), Freyja JACOBSEN (Tuggeranong United)

3 Alison LOUND, Jess McEWAN, Brittany SMALE (all Belconnen United), Erika PENNYFIELD (Belwest Foxes), Amanda AUROUSSEAU, Rebecca COLLINS (both Boomerangs FS), Aniko BERGUNO (El Diva Belwest), Brittany TULLY (Gungahlin United), Najwa ALLEN, Auraelia BULLOT, Aleisha TUPPER (all Players FC), Annica SCHOO (Tuggeranong United)

2 Meredith LEACH, Cassie RANKINE (both Belwest Foxes), Michelle AUROUSSEAU, Rachel CRITTENDEN (all Boomerangs FS), Celia BROWN, Dianne WILSON (both Gungahlin United Suns), Emma BEAUMONT, Alice CHURCHILL (both Players FC), Kelsey PERRY, Emma THORNTON (both Woden Valley)

1 Clare MUNRO (Belconnen United), Holly TRIMBLE, Stephanie TRIMBLE (both Belwest Foxes), Michaela DAY, Laura JONES (both Boomerangs FS), Vanh MANTHONGSY, Shona ROBSON, Michelle THOMPSON (all El Diva Belwest), Lizzie READ (Gungahlin United Suns), Maja BLASCH, Rachael GOLDSTEIN, Rhianna GOLDSTEIN (all Players FC), Sigourney DUNK, Kristy HELMERS, Elena SCHOO (all Tuggeranong United), Erin CLOUT, Julia DE ANGELIS, Ellie RAYMOND (all Woden Valley), own GOALS

Leave a Reply