Chonburi Bluewave 8-1 Dural Warriors (AFC)


Photo by Surapat Meesawat

Photo by Surapat Meesawat

Shah Alam: Chonburi Bluewave have secured a place in the August AFC Futsal Club Championship 2013 finals in Nagoya after convincingly beating Australian Dural Warriors 8-1 on Monday at the Panasonic Sports Complex.

The Thai outfit also became the first team to enter into the final where they will play either Vietnamese Thai Son Nam or Chinese star-studded side Shenzhen Nanling who are meeting each other later on the day.

Thai national futsal players Suphawut Thueanklang and Kirtsada Wongkaeo were on top of their game with the former scoring three goals and the later notching up a brace to make his personal tally eight in the competition.

Jarrod Basger pulled a consolation goal for Dural Warriors who still have a chance to qualify for the finals if they manage to win in the third-place playoff slated for Tuesday.

“Our conversion rates were quite high today unlike our previous matches in the tournament,” Chonburi coach Pazos Mendez told

“The main goal in this competition was to qualify so it’s a kind of ‘job done’ today. We will of course not take the final match lightly but I am reluctant to play players who are on yellow card.

“Kritsada (Wongkaeo) is on yellow card and if he gets another he will be suspended from the first match in Nagoya so I don’t want to risk him tomorrow and the squad members will get ample opportunities tomorrow to impress,” he added.

Mendez’s counterpart Robert Varela was impressed with the performance of the Thais and conceded that they were defeated by the qualities of Chonburi.

“You were playing against the best side of the tournament so their quality won the match for them today,” he said.

“I am a bit disappointed by the lack of precision from my boys otherwise we need to take the result and keep on our pursuit of qualifications by mentally and physically preparing ourselves for the Tuesday’s big match,” he quipped.


Chonburi Bluewave 

Suphawut Thueanklang 22′ 28′ 30′
Kritsada Wongkaeo 7′, 14′
Keattiyot Chalaemkhet 3′ 37′
Apiwat Chaemcharoen 12′

Dural Warriors

Jarrod Basger 32′

Leave a Reply