Victorian Futsal League: Round Two Wrap


Logo - Football Federation Victoria (FFV) Futsal

The 2nd round saw the debut of last year’s champions the Vic Vipers getting off to a great start to their campaign. Joining the Vipers in the win column were Pascoe Vale and St Albans whom both impressed and won by a comfortable margin. The Jaguars were on a Bye this week.

Vic Vipers FC 6 (Avram 4’ Jason Barrientos 8’ Jonathan Barrientos 32’ Barrigos 41’ De Moraes 48’ Pedic 50’)
EFA Eagles 3 (Husseini 7’ Hamre 31’ 49’)

The Vipers and Eagles game was anticipated to be the closest encounter of the night and it lived up to expectations until the 32nd minute when Jonathan Barrientos broke a 2-2 deadlock and ignited a 3 goal spurt for the Vipers to put the game out of reach for the young Eagles team. Hamre shined for the Eagles again and having added 2 more goals to his goal scoring tally is now the man to catch for the golden boot. The Vipers have spread their goals evenly amongst their players as all six goals were scored by different players.

Pascoe Vale FC 4 (Soufi 15’ Rocca 25’ Julardzija 34’ 39’)
Cobras FC 1 (Davies 34’)

Pascoe Vale has gone 3 points clear at the top of the table with a comfortable win over the Cobras. The new league leaders scored 2 goals either side of half time with the lone response from Davies of Cobras meant that PVFC have conceded their very first and only goal of the competition after 2 games played. The Cobras hope to have their round 1 hero in Christian Skok return soon but Pascoe Vale will certainly provide a stellar test for all teams.

St Albans Strikers FC 8 (Grgic 2’ 7’ 12’ Redzepovic A.10’ Borchert 22’ Portillo 23’ 28’ 31’)
Bayside Pirates FC 2 (Forero Torres 23’ Elmer 46’)

The Strikers bounced back after their tough loss in round 1 with a solid performance against the Pirates. St Albans found themselves 4 goals to the good after only 12 minutes which effectively sealed the outcome of this match. Tomislav Grgic & Jose Portillo both recorded hat-ricks to stake their claims as potential challengers for the top goal scorers award.

Leave a Reply