ACT Mens Premier League Round 7 Review


Logo - ACT Capital Football Futsal (PNG)Canberra City Prawns remains unbeaten in the Men’s Futsal Premier League after recording another crushing victory in Round 7, dismantling Belconnen United 13-3 at the AIS Training Hall. The Prawns, who won the title in some style last season, are now three points clear at the top of the ladder and have a game in hand on those chasing them down.

Robbie Cattanach, crowned the National Premier League: Capital Football Player of the Year last week, showed he is just as effective on the indoor courts with four goals in the comfortable victory over the young Blue Devils. Pat Ross-Magee, a Futsalroo international, bagged a hat-trick for the Prawns whilst Ryan Keir and Daniel Fulton, who played with the Futsalroos on their recent tour to New Zealand, netted a brace each. Leading scorer in the team, Stephen Domenici, rattled home his 14th of the season with Trent Flanigan rounding off the win. Kieran Mattress scored twice in reply for Belconnen with their other goal credited as an own goal.

Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves are second on the standings after seven rounds following their 5-3 win over Canberra Olympic who slip to third. Lukas Cole, enjoying a purple patch in front of goal, extended his lead in the Golden Boot race hammering a hat-trick to move onto eighteen goals already this season. Philip Mackay and Jeoff Noja also found the target for the Timberwolves who have won five and lost two of their matches played to date. Michael Reeve (2) and Callum Smith responded for Olympic, the pair having had international trials recently, but it was to no avail as Timberwolves climbed the ladder.

The Untouchables remarkable start to life in the men’s Futsal Premier League continued with a 6-2 victory over Queanbeyan City. Cameron Gordon, who has taken to playing at this level like a duck to water, led the way scoring five times to go onto fourteen goals for the season. Aidan Brown slotted his fifth of the year as well, as the Untouchables brought up half a dozen goals. A Nathan Walker strike and an own goal had Queanbeyan in with a shout but the Untouchables were in great form again and are now fifth and chasing a top four spot.

Boomerangs FS claimed only their second win in six outings this season with a 5-2 win over Woden Valley who remain fourth on the ladder despite this loss. Chris Lee was the goal-scoring star for the Boomerangs, the diminutive flyer claiming a hat-trick for his team with further goals registered by Brad Sawyer and Evan Ekin-Smyth. Daniel Bennett and Zach Sorenson pulled goals back for Woden Valley but the defeat means that Woden loses ground on the top three.

17th October 2013
AIS Training Hall

Belconnen United 3 (Kieran Mattress (2), Own Goal) Canberra City Prawns 13 (Robbie Cattanach (4), Pat Ross-Magee (3), Ryan Keir (2), Daniel Fulton (2), Stephen Domenici, Trent Flanigan)
Canberra Olympic 3 (Michael Reeve (2), Callum Smith) Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves 5 (Lukas Cole (3), Philip Mackay, Jeoff Noja)
Untouchables FC 6 (Cameron Gordon (5), Aidan Brown) Queanbeyan City 2 (Nathan Walker, Own Goal)
Woden Valley 2 (Daniel Bennett, Zach Sorenson) Boomerangs FS 5 (Chris Lee (3), Brad Sawyer, Evan Ekin-Smyth)



Lukas COLE (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
14 Stephen DOMENICI (Canberra City Prawns), Cameron GORDON (Untouchables FC)
11 Robbie CATTANACH (Canberra City Prawns)
10 Trent FLANIGAN (Canberra City Prawns), Jason O’DWYER (Canberra Olympic)
7 Pat ROSS-MAGEE (Canberra City Prawns), Tom McLACHLAN, Misko NAUMOSKI (Canberra Olympic), Richard MOON (Untouchables FC), Tony ALEKSOVSKI (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
6 Philip MACKAY (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
5 David LEET (Boomerangs FS), Daniel FULTON (Canberra City Prawns), Nathan WALKER (Queanbeyan City), Aidan BROWN (Untouchables), Grant DAVOREN (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves), Thomas ZEITLHOFER (Woden Valley)
4 Evan EKIN-SMYTH, Chris LEE (Boomerangs FS), Callum SMITH (Canberra Olympic), Zach KNIGHT, Jeoff NOJA (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves), Sean O’NEILL (Woden Valley), Own GOALS
3 Matthew STIRTON (Belconnen United), David DEXTER, Brad SAWYER (Boomerangs FS), Ryan KEIR (Canberra City Prawns), Kristian COLLINS (Canberra Olympic), William SHEPPARD (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
Ryan LITTLE, Kieran MATTRESS, Nikolas POPOVICH, Michael RINAUDO (Belconnen United), Adam DOBELL, Hugh EKIN-SMYTH (Boomerangs FS), Michael REEVE (Canberra Olympic), Dylan ALEXANDROW-RIDLEY, Rui FERREIRA, Ben HARRINGTON (Queanbeyan City), Adrian STROH (Untouchables FC), Nick KEIR, Daniel BENNETT, Joshua PARISI (Woden Valley)
Josh GASPARI, Nicholas RATHJEN (Belconnen United), Matt MENSER (Canberra City Prawns), Bernard RENE, Glenn SMITH (Canberra Olympic), Andrew McGURGAN, Goran MILUTINOVIC, Anthony PULCIANI (Queanbeyan City), Jack BLACKLEY, Jason FARRELL (Untouchables FC), Goran JOSIFOVSKI (Weston-Molonglo FC), Daniel GIOVINAZZO, Ben PAGETT, Jonathan CIMINELLI, Zach SORENSON, Jake WILSENER (Woden Valley)

Round 8 – 23rd October 2013

AIS Training Hall
Canberra Olympic v Boomerangs FS (18:15)
Woden Valley v Canberra City Prawns (19:00)
Belconnen United v Queanbeyan City (19:45)
Untouchables FC v Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves (20:30)

Leave a Reply