ACT Mens Premier League Round 10 Review

Capital Football

Logo - ACT Capital Football Futsal (PNG)Canberra City Prawns has virtually wrapped up the League Championship and secured top spot for the play-offs in the men’s Futsal Premier League as they increased their advantage at the top of the table to seven points after Round 10 played at the AIS Training Hall. The Prawns, packed with ACT Futsal and international representatives, brushed aside the challenge of Boomerangs FS in imperious style, winning 7-2. Venerable old-head Trent Flanigan netted a hat-trick and there were doubles for Robbie Cattanach and Daniel Fulton as the Prawns moved seamlessly through the gears to rack up another win. Chris Lee, who has enjoyed an excellent season, pulled one back for Boomerangs and was joined on the score-sheet by Brad Sawyer in a losing cause.

The Boomerangs also played their re-arranged Round 2 match with Queanbeyan City and fought out an entertaining 3-3 draw. Sawyer was on target again in that match, his seventh goal of the season, whilst Adam Dobell and James Perry also found a way past the City goalkeeper. Nathan Walker netted a brace in response for Queanbeyan City with a goal from Goran Milutinovic earning the NSW side a draw.

City can count themselves unfortunate that they didn’t come away from the evening with a win as they recorded a second draw with a creditable 4-4 result with high flying Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves. The Timberwolves thus slipped to seven points behind the Canberra City Prawns having also played a game more. Walker struck again for City in this match, his eleventh goal of the year, with the other Queanbeyan goals shared between Dylan Alexandrow-Ridley, Rui Ferreira and Milutinovic. Lukas Cole blasted a hat-trick for the Timberwolves, cementing his position at the top of the Golden Boot charts with 24 goals, whilst Philip Mackay also found the net.

The Untouchables FC first season in the Futsal Premier League continues apace as they opened up what could be a crucial four point gap between them in fourth and Woden Valley in fifth by prevailing by the odd-goal in a nine-goal thriller, ultimately coming out on top 5-4. Cameron Gordon has been a revelation this season for the Untouchables and hit a brace to move onto seventeen goals for the campaign with team mates Aidan Brown, Richard Moon and Adrian Stroh adding to the tally. Woden hit back through Daniel Bennett, who was later sent off for receiving two cautions, Jonathon Ciminelli, Sean O’Neill and Ben Pagett in what was a wonderful advertisement for the game.

Canberra Olympic was awarded a 5-0 victory over Belconnen United in the other match scheduled for the evening as the Blue Devils forfeited.

31st October 2013
AIS Training Hall

Boomerangs FS 2 (Chris Lee, Brad Sawyer) Canberra City Prawns 7 (Trent Flanigan (3), Robbie Cattanach (2), Daniel Fulton (2))
Canberra Olympic 5 Belconnen United 0 – forfeit
Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves 4 (Lukas Cole (3), Philip Mackay) Queanbeyan City 4 (Dylan Alexandrow-Ridley, Rui Ferreira, Goran Milutinovic, Nathan Walker)
Untouchables FC 5 (Cameron Gordon (2), Aidan Brown, Richard Moon, Adrian Stroh) Woden Valley 4 (Daniel Bennett, Jonathon Ciminelli, Sean O’Neill, Ben Pagett)
Round 2:  Boomerangs FS 3 (Adam Dobell, Brad Sawyer, James Perry) Queanbeyan City 3 (Nathan Walker (2), Goran Milutinovic)



24 Lukas COLE (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
17 Cameron GORDON (Untouchables FC)
15 Robbie CATTANACH (Canberra City Prawns)
14 Stephen DOMENICI (Canberra City Prawns)
13 Trent FLANIGAN (Canberra City Prawns)
12 Jason O’DWYER (Canberra Olympic)
11 Daniel FULTON (Canberra City Prawns), Nathan WALKER (Queanbeyan City)
9 Chris LEE (Boomerangs FS), Pat ROSS-MAGEE (Canberra City Prawns), Richard MOON (Untouchables FC)
8 Tony ALEKSOVSKI, Philip MACKAY (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves), Daniel BENNETT, Thomas ZEITLHOFER (Woden Valley)
Brad SAWYER (Boomerangs FS), Tom McLACHLAN, Misko NAUMOSKI (Canberra Olympic), Zach KNIGHT (Queanbeyan City)
6 Michael RINAUDO (Belconnen United), Aidan BROWN, Adrian STROH (Untouchables FC)
5 Ryan LITTLE (Belconnen United), David LEET (Boomerangs FS), Ben HARRINGTON (Queanbeyan City), Grant DAVOREN (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves), Sean O’NEILL (Woden Valley), Own GOALS
4 Evan EKIN-SMYTH (Boomerangs FS), Ryan KEIR (Canberra City Prawns), Callum SMITH (Canberra Olympic), Dylan ALEXANDROW-RIDLEY (Queanbeyan City), Jeoff NOJA (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
3 Kieran MATTRESS, Nikolas POPOVICH, Matthew STIRTON (Belconnen United), David DEXTER, Adam DOBELL (Boomerangs FS), Kristian COLLINS, Michael REEVE (Canberra Olympic), Rui FERREIRA (Queanbeyan City), William SHEPPARD (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
2 Nicholas RATHJEN (Belconnen United), Hugh EKIN-SMYTH (Boomerangs FS), Andrew McGURGAN, Goran MILUTINOVIC, Anthony PULCIANI (Queanbeyan City), Jack BLACKLEY, Jason FARRELL (Untouchables FC), Goran JOSIFOVSKI (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves), Jonathan CIMINELLI, Nick KEIR, Ben PAGETT, Joshua PARISI (Woden Valley)
1 Josh GASPARI (Belconnen United), James PERRY (Boomerangs FS), Matt MENSER (Canberra City Prawns), Philippe BERNABO-MADRID, Bernard RENE, Glenn SMITH (Canberra Olympic), Raymond MOON (Untouchables FC), Daniel GIOVINAZZO, Zach SORENSON, Jake WILSENER (Woden Valley)

Round 11 – 7th November 2013
AIS Training Hall

Untouchables FC v Canberra Olympic (18:15)
Woden Valley v Queanbeyan City (19:00)
Belconnen United v Boomerangs FS (19:45)
Canberra City Prawns v Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves (20:30)

Leave a Reply