ACT Mens Premier League Round 12

Capital Football

Logo - ACT Capital Football Futsal (PNG)As the men’s Futsal Premier League competition heads towards its final two rounds all attention will be focused on who will take the fourth placed spot, and with it a semi-final place, following an intriguing Round 12 played at the ANU Sports Centre last week. With Canberra City Prawns, Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves and Canberra Olympic all scoring victories, the top three places look set. However, Boomerangs FS, Woden Valley and Untouchables FC are primed for action in order to make the last four.

Boomerangs FS gave themselves hope of pulling into the semi-finals position when they defeated Untouchables FC 4-3 in a thriller. With both sides desperate to record a victory, the pace of the game was unrelenting and the flow from end to end. In the end it was Boomerangs who squeezed home by the odd goal in seven thanks to strikes from Adam Dobell, Cameron Reinhart, Bradley Sawyer and Brendan Hawker. Untouchables fought to the end and scored via Richard Moon (2) and Aidan Brown but to no avail. With the unbeaten Prawns providing the opposition next up for Untouchables FC, their finals hopes are on the line.

Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves are still third but have opened up a five point gap over Untouchables FC following a mammoth 12-5 win over Belconnen United in which, as the score-line suggests, was a highly entertaining match. The league’s leading scorer, Lukas Cole, nabbed a double to move onto 26 goals for the campaign, but for once the sharp-shooter was out-gunned by his team mates. William Sheppard (4), Goran Josifovski (3) and Philip Mackay (3) all hit hat-tricks as the Timberwolves ran riot. Kieran Mattress (2), Matthew Stirton (2) and Christopher Smith replied for a beaten, but far from disgraced, Blue Devils outfit.

Canberra Olympic protected their two-point advantage over the Timberwolves with a hard fought 4-3 win over Woden Valley. Callum Smith led the way with a brace for Olympic who was helped out by a Woden valley own goal and a striker from Misko Naumoski. Woden was valiant to the end and goals from Jake Wilsener (2) and Sean O’Neill gave them hope of a draw but they fell just short. Woden remains a point off fourth but plays bottom club Belconnen United next week whilst Untouchables face the Prawns.

And the prawns show no sign of abating even though they wrapped up the top spot a while ago. They are now eleven from eleven having comfortably dispatched Queanbeyan City 11-2. The usual suspects were amongst the goals with Stephen Domenici landing five, Trent Flanigan and Pat Ross-Magee two each, with singles going to Daniel Fulton and Robbie Cattanach. City replied through Goran Milutinovic and Zach Knight but, like so many before them, could do little to halt the Prawns inexorable march.

Round 12– 20th November 2013
ANU Sports Centre – International Court

Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves 12 (William Sheppard (4), Goran Josifovski (3), Philip Mackay (3), Lukas Cole (2)) Belconnen United 5 (Kieran Mattress (2), Matthew Stirton (2), Christopher Smith)
Canberra Olympic 4 (Callum Smith (2), Misko Naumoski, own goal) Woden Valley 3 (Jake Wilsener (2), Sean O’Neill)
Boomerangs FS 4 (Adam Dobell, Cameron Reinhart, Bradley Sawyer, Brendan Hawker) Untouchables FC 3 (Richard Moon (2), Aidan Brown)
Queanbeyan City 2 (Goran Milutinovic, Zach Knight) Canberra City Prawns 11 (Stephen Domenici (5), Trent Flanigan (2), Pat Ross-Magee (2), Daniel Fulton, Robbie Cattanach)



 Lukas COLE (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
20 Stephen DOMENICI (Canberra City Prawns)
17 Robbie CATTANACH (Canberra City Prawns), Cameron GORDON (Untouchables FC)
16 Trent FLANIGAN, Daniel FULTON (Canberra City Prawns)
13 Jason O’DWYER (Canberra Olympic)
12 Pat ROSS-MAGEE (Canberra City Prawns), Philip MACKAY (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
11 Chris LEE (Boomerangs FS), Nathan WALKER (Queanbeyan City), Richard MOON (Untouchables FC)
9 Zach KNIGHT (Queanbeyan City), Thomas ZEITLHOFER (Woden Valley)
Brad SAWYER (Boomerangs FS), Misko NAUMOSKI (Canberra Olympic), Tony ALEKSOVSKI (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves), Daniel BENNETT, Sean O’NEILL (Woden Valley)
7 Michael RINAUDO (Belconnen United), Tom McLACHLAN (Canberra Olympic), Aidan BROWN (Untouchables FC), William SHEPPARD (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
6 Kieran MATTRESS (Belconnen United), Callum SMITH (Canberra Olympic), Ben HARRINGTON (Queanbeyan City), Adrian STROH (Untouchables FC), Goran JOSIFOVSKI (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves), Own GOALS
5 Ryan LITTLE, Matthew STIRTON (Belconnen United), David LEET (Boomerangs FS), Dylan ALEXANDROW-RIDLEY (Queanbeyan City), Grant DAVOREN, Jeoff NOJA (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves), Jake WILSENER (Woden Valley)
4 David DEXTER, Adam DOBELL, Evan EKIN-SMYTH (Boomerangs FS), Ryan KEIR (Canberra City Prawns), Rui FERREIRA (Queanbeyan City), Nicholas KEIR (Woden Valley)
3 Nikolas POPOVICH (Belconnen United), Kristian COLLINS, Michael REEVE (Canberra Olympic), Goran MILUTINOVIC (Queanbeyan City), Jack BLACKLEY (Untouchables FC), Ben PAGETT (Woden Valley)
2 Nicholas RATHJEN (Belconnen United), Hugh EKIN-SMYTH (Boomerangs FS), Glenn SMITH (Canberra Olympic), Andrew McGURGAN, Anthony PULCIANI (Queanbeyan City), Jason FARRELL (Untouchables FC), Jonathan CIMINELLI, Joshua PARISI (Woden Valley)
1 Josh GASPARI, Gianmarco SENATORE, Christopher SMITH (Belconnen United), Brendan HAWKER, James PERRY, Cameron REINHART (Boomerangs FS), Matt MENSER (Canberra City Prawns), Philippe BERNABO-MADRID, Bernard RENE (Canberra Olympic), Raymond MOON (Untouchables FC), Daniel GIOVINAZZO, Zach SORENSON (Woden Valley)

Round 13– 27th November 2013

ANU Sports Centre – International Court 
Woden Valley v Belconnen United
Untouchables FC v Canberra City Prawns
Boomerangs FS v Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves
Canberra Olympic v Queanbeyan City

Leave a Reply