ACT Mens Premier League – Round 13 Review

Capital Futsal

Logo - ACT Capital Football Futsal (PNG)We are set for a high octane final round of action in the Men’s Futsal Premier League as the competition heads towards the semi-final stages with the last of the round-robin league fixtures to be played on 4th December. Put simply, two into one does not go, and with Woden Valley and Boomerangs FS still in the running heading into Round 14, there is all to play for. The unfortunate team is Untouchables FC who will miss out on finals football in their first season due to Woden and Boomerangs facing each other.

Untouchables FC were close to pulling off an almighty upset in Round 13 when they fell to a narrow 5-4 defeat to runaway league leaders Canberra City Prawns. The Prawns had just enough firepower to see themselves to victory in an excellent match. Robbie Cattanach netted twice for the Prawns and the usual suspects, Trent Flanigan and Pat Ross-Magee joined Cattanach on the score-sheet. An own goal rounded off the prawns finishing. Cameron Gordon moved onto nineteen goals for the year with his double whilst Aidan Brown and Joshua Broekhuyse also found the net.

Canberra Olympic remain second despite losing 4-8 to a rampant Queanbeyan City as Weston-Molonglo FC fell to a loss to Boomerangs FS. Olympic had no problem scoring goals, a Misko Naumoski hat-trick and a goal from Kristian Collins proved that, but they were porous at the back as Ben Harrington (3), Rui Ferreira (2), Zach Knight, Andrew McGurgan and Anthony Pulciani all found the target for a City side that are finishing the season in fine form.

Boomerangs gave themselves a chance of appearing in the semi-finals after they defeated Weston-Molonglo FC 3-1, a result which leaves Boomerangs in fifth and Weston third, setting up next week’s winner takes all showdown with Woden Valley. Brad Sawyer was the goal hero for Boomerangs in an all-round superb team display as he scored twice with a Weston own goal also helping out Boomerangs. Tony Aleksovski replied for Weston whose need for a result was less and that showed as Boomerangs stormed to what could prove to be a vital victory.

Woden Valley will head into that match in buoyant mood having hammered Belconnen United 8-2 to put them in pole position for the final semi-final place. The win means that Woden can afford a draw with Boomerangs in Round 14 to progress. Joshua Parisi (2), Thomas Zeitlhofer (2), Daniel Bennett, Jonathon Ciminelli, Sean O’Neill and Ben Pagett took advantage of a tired Belconnen defence to register the goals that ensured a comfortable win. The Blue Devils youngsters fought hard and were rewarded with goals from Gianmarco Senatore and Ryan Quarmby but that was never going to be enough against Woden.

Round 13– 27th November 2013
ANU Sports Centre – International Court 

Woden Valley 8 (Joshua Parisi (2), Thomas Zeitlhofer (2), Daniel Bennett, Jonathon Ciminelli, Sean O’Neill, Ben Pagett) Belconnen United 2 (Gianmarco Senatore, Ryan Quarmby)
Untouchables FC 4 (Cameron Gordon (2), Aidan Brown, Joshua Broekhuyse) Canberra City Prawns 5 (Robbie Cattanach (2), Trent Flanigan, Pat Ross-Magee, own goal)
Boomerangs FS 3 (Brad Sawyer (2), own goal) Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves 1 (Tony Aleksovski)
Canberra Olympic 4 (Misko Naumoski (3), Kristian Collins) Queanbeyan City 8 (Ben Harrington (3), Rui Ferreira (2), Zach Knight, Andrew McGurgan, Anthony Pulciani)



 Lukas COLE (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
20 Stephen DOMENICI (Canberra City Prawns)
19 Robbie CATTANACH (Canberra City Prawns), Cameron GORDON (Untouchables FC)
17 Trent FLANIGAN (Canberra City Prawns)
16 Daniel FULTON (Canberra City Prawns)
13 Pat ROSS-MAGEE (Canberra City Prawns), Jason O’DWYER (Canberra Olympic)
12 Philip MACKAY (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
11 Chris LEE (Boomerangs FS), Misko NAUMOSKI (Canberra Olympic), Nathan WALKER (Queanbeyan City), Richard MOON (Untouchables FC), Thomas ZEITLHOFER (Woden Valley)
10 Brad SAWYER (Boomerangs FS), Zach KNIGHT (Queanbeyan City)
9 Ben HARRINGTON (Queanbeyan City), Tony ALEKSOVSKI (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves), Daniel BENNETT, Sean O’NEILL (Woden Valley)
8 Aidan BROWN (Untouchables FC),Own GOALS
Michael RINAUDO (Belconnen United), Tom McLACHLAN (Canberra Olympic), William SHEPPARD (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
Kieran MATTRESS (Belconnen United), Callum SMITH (Canberra Olympic), Rui FERREIRA (Queanbeyan City), Adrian STROH (Untouchables FC), Goran JOSIFOVSKI (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves)
Ryan LITTLE, Matthew STIRTON (Belconnen United), David LEET (Boomerangs FS), Dylan ALEXANDROW-RIDLEY (Queanbeyan City), Grant DAVOREN, Jeoff NOJA (Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves), Jake WILSENER (Woden Valley)
4 David DEXTER, Adam DOBELL, Evan EKIN-SMYTH (Boomerangs FS), Ryan KEIR (Canberra City Prawns), Kristian COLLINS (Canberra Olympic), Nicholas KEIR, Ben PAGETT, Joshua PARISI (Woden Valley)
3 Nikolas POPOVICH (Belconnen United), Michael REEVE (Canberra Olympic), Andrew McGURGAN, Goran MILUTINOVIC, Anthony PULCIANI (Queanbeyan City), Jack BLACKLEY (Untouchables FC), Jonathan CIMINELLI (Woden Valley)
2 Nicholas RATHJEN, Gianmarco SENATORE (Belconnen United), Hugh EKIN-SMYTH (Boomerangs FS), Glenn SMITH (Canberra Olympic), Jason FARRELL (Untouchables FC),
Josh GASPARI, Ryan QUARMBY, Christopher SMITH (Belconnen United), Brendan HAWKER, James PERRY, Cameron REINHART (Boomerangs FS), Matt MENSER (Canberra City Prawns), Philippe BERNABO-MADRID, Bernard RENE (Canberra Olympic), Joshua BROEKHUYSE, Raymond MOON (Untouchables FC), Daniel GIOVINAZZO, Zach SORENSON (Woden Valley)

Round 14– 4th December 2013
ANU Sports Centre – International Court

Canberra City Prawns v Belconnen United
Queanbeyan City v Untouchables FC
Weston-Molonglo Timberwolves v Canberra Olympic
Boomerangs FS v Woden Valley

Leave a Reply