Tuggeranong United wins JPL U12 Title (ACT)

Capital Football


Monaro Panthers 2 (Nicolas Felizzi 24’, Anthony Macarlino 39’) Tuggeranong United 7 (Liam Wille 11’, 13’, 29’, 34’, Ben Walther 15’, Zedan Mutlu 27’, 31’)

Tuggeranong United were crowned Junior Futsal Premier League under-12 champions with a convincing 7-2 win over Monaro Panthers at Stromlo High School and, on the balance of play, it was a more than deserved win for United who dominated possession and created more chances than their opponents to claim the trophy at the end of forty minutes.


There was a clear contrast of styles throughout with Tuggeranong playing a patient, possession based game keeping the ball on the floor as much as possible in stark difference to the Panthers tactics of launching high balls forward from their goalkeeper to a target player, a tactic that failed to pay dividends with Ben Obst a rock for United. This left Nicolas Felizzi, the competition’s leading scorer, an isolated figure in attack with the Panthers unable to get players up in support when they did get the ball.

Defensively Monaro played two blocks of two and moved across court well in the early stages to deny Tuggeranong any space with Karly Roestbakken providing a formidable obstacle and, as such, it took United until the 11th minute to make the breakthrough. Liam Wille provided it, pouncing quickest onto a rebound after Obst had a shot blocked to flick the ball into the net from close range. Shortly after Wille was on target again, lashing in a free-kick from just outside the area and, from then on, the destination of the silverware looked set.

Ben Walther slid a third Tuggeranong goal in off the post before the break leaving Monaro with much to do in the second half. They started well, Felizzi bundling home his 55th goal of a remarkable season, to give his team a glimmer of hope. That was soon snuffed out however as the excellent Zedan Mutlu took charge of proceedings and slotted home the fourth goal to virtually seal the title. Three further goals arrived in relatively quick succession with Wille moving onto four goals for the game, and 42 for the season, either side of Mutlu’s second as Tuggeranong took complete control.

The Panthers had the last word however when the hard-working Anthony Macarlino got his reward for persistence with a well-stuck free-kick, moments after a shot had hit the post, but it was a mere consolation for Monaro who were second best on the day but can be proud of a superb season.

Monaro Panthers: 1. George GABBEDY, 2. Andrew NOACK, 4. James DRISCOLL, 5. Max FARINAZZO, 6. Karly ROESTBAKKEN, 10. Nicolas FELIZZI, 13. Anthony MACARLINO
Tuggeranong United: 1. David GURNEY, 2. Matthew KING, 3. Jordan CHARLES, 4. Elliott CHARLES, 8. Ben WALTHER 9. Zedan MUTLU, 10. Liam WILLE, 11. Ben OBST
Match Officials: Charlie KURTHI, Hamish DRIVER-RAE

55 Nicolas FELIZZI (Monaro Panthers)
42 Liam WILLE (Tuggeranong United)
32 Zedan MUTLU (Tuggeranong United)
20 Anthony MACARLINO (Monaro Panthers)
19 Elijah CHACOS, Shuji NAWATA (Woden Valley Lightning), Luca GAGLIARDI (Woden Valley Thunder)
16 Andrew NOACK (Monaro Panthers)
15 Leon MICHL (Belconnen United)
13 Ben WALTHER (Tuggeranong United)
12 Jordan HOST (Weston-Molonglo FC)
11 Riley RAWIRI (Weston-Molonglo FC), Samuel MAZEY-FRANKCOM (Woden Valley Lightning)
10 William FITZPATRICK (Belconnen United), Eliot HALL (Woden Valley Lightning)
Max FARINAZZO (Monaro Panthers), Lorenzo PILAPIL (Weston-Molonglo FC), Daniel GROVE (Woden Valley Lightning)
8 Maxx GREEN (Belconnen United), Matthew KING, Ben OBST (Tuggeranong United)
7 Jack TALLARIDA-LYONS (Weston-Molonglo FC), Tom HOWARTH (Woden Valley Thunder)
6 Elliott CHARLES (Tuggeranong United), Armani TAFFA (Woden Valley Thunder)
5 Karly ROESTBAKKEN (Monaro Panthers), own GOALS
4 Dylan CHALMERS (Belconnen United), James DRISCOLL (Monaro Panthers), Jack BOLTON (Woden Valley Lightning)
3 David GURNEY (Tuggeranong United), Oscar HOURIGAN (Weston-Molonglo FC), William GRANGER, Cody WEBB (Woden Valley Thunder)
2 Samuel CHALK, Harry STEWART (Belconnen United), Jack EVANS-GILDEA, Harrison TRUMAN (Weston-Molonglo FC), Eliot HALL (Woden Valley Lightning), Harry ECONOMOLPOULOS (Woden Valley Thunder)
1 Henry JAGLA, Alexander WALSH (Belconnen United), George GABBEOY (Monaro Panthers), Liam WHITBY (Weston-Molonglo FC), Matthew PRYOR (Woden valley Lightning), Gabriel OSINGA (Woden Valley Thunder)

Boy’s Junior Premier League U12 Grand Final Facebook Gallery

Leave a Reply