2014 FFA National Futsal Champs Fact Sheet

FFA Nationals

  • FFA-NationalsSix States and Territories will take part in the 2014 FFA National Futsal Championships (ACT, NSW, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria).
  • Queensland will be represented by a Metro and Regional selection whilst NSW will field teams under the names of Thunder and Lightning.
  • In total there are 79 competing teams (44 Male, 28 Female, 6 AWD).
  • The AWD (Athletes with Disability) Tournament will feature representatives from ACT, NSW, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria.
  • An Australian representative team to play in the AWD Futsal World Cup will be selected from participating players at the 2014 FFA National Futsal Championships.
  • Four venues will be used: AIS Arena, AIS Training Hall, ANU International Courts, mpowerdome.
  • There are thirteen titles to be won. In addition to the AWD crown there are seven competing age-groups for Males (12 Boys, 13 Boys, 14 Boys, 15 Boys, 16 Boys, Youth, Open) and five for Females (12 Girls, 14 Girls, 16 Girls, Youth, Open).
  • The current Open Men’s Champions are the ACT who defeated Victoria 6-5 on penalties after a 3-3 draw in last year’s Grand Final.
  • The current Open Women’s Champions are the ACT who defeated Victoria 2-0 in last year’s Grand Final.
  • Last year NSW Metro led the way by winning eight titles. NSW Regional and ACT won two titles apiece with Queensland winning the AWD championship.
  • Grand Final Player of the Match and Player of the Tournament Awards are handed out for each age group. Golden Boot awards are up for grabs in Youth Men and Women and Open Men and Women categories only.

Leave a Reply