NSW Premier League Club Champs – Inner West Magic

Futsal in Australia (Facebook)

Inner West Magic claim Club Championship honours for the 8th time in 9 years and the league bids farewell to Boomerangs FS who were unable to dodge the relegation zone by 5 points.

The Boomers have experienced 3 good seasons in the Premier League after gaining promotion in the 2011/12 season.

The 2014/15 season will welcome UTS Northside Futsal Club after earning promotion from State League in their inaugural season.


The Brains behind the Magic operation. Congratulations to Club President Matteo, Carmine and club Captain Robbie Maiorana on another Club Championship victory. For the Maiorana boys that’s 8 titles in 9 years and for Carmine 7 in 8. Photo courtesy of Inner West Magic.

Comments 7

  1. something not adding up right with your stats so I did a bit of internet search-

    Football NSW is also the governing body for Futsal is New South Wales. There are two representative leagues named the “Futsal Premier League” (Known as Refund Futsal Premier League for sponsorship reasons) and the “Futsal Super League”. Originally there was only one representative league with 16 teams. In the 06/07 season the competition was cut into 2 separate divisions of 8 teams each. In the 07/08 season the top 8 clubs in the club championship (aggregate points of all teams) from that season were put in the First Division while the last 8 were put in the second division.

    Sydney city eagles won 2 times and inner west all stars 1 times so im confused ??

    1. Premier League hasn’t been called the NSW Refund Futsal Premier League for ages. It was once called the McDonald’s Premier League as well. This season,the second tier name “Super League” was abolished and replaced with “State League”.

      Inner West Magic was originally called Sydney Magic. There was an issue relating to an external partnership for the club which caused the club to lose it’s original identity and fold. The following season the president/players/coaches moved to Inner West Allstars who won the Club Championship then not too long after they rebranded the Inner West Allstars club as Inner West Magic.

      Read the club history on the Inner West Magic website http://innerwestmagic.com.au/club-history/

      Pretty sure the FNSW Trophy will look like this
      2005/2006 – Sydney Magic
      2006/2007 – Sydney Magic
      2007/2008 – Sydney Magic
      2008/2009 – Sydney Magic
      2009/2010 – Inner West Allstars (Magic/Allstars combined)
      2010/2011 – Sydney City Eagles
      2011/2012 – Inner West Magic
      2012/2013 – Inner West Magic
      2013/2014 – Inner West Magic

      1. then it should be 8 times in 10 years as Sydney city have won it 2 times, from memory the very first year so first season of nsw futsal league must have started 2004/05?
        Anyone involved back then care to comment as wiki info is not correct either.

  2. Actually the Premier League started in 2000 back when Futsal was administered autonomously! So you would have to look further. I am not really sure how you would check this but I know Quake & Dural were involved then so maybe their records could reflect what happened prior to Football NSW taking control.

  3. Think article means won it 8 times in the space of 9 years, not 8 times since the competition started.

Leave a Reply