Nelson College win first Tasman secondary schools futsal championships (NZ)


Nelson College are the first ever winners of the Tasman secondary school futsal championships after edging Waimea College on goal differential.

The inaugural tournament, held at Saxton Stadium on Friday, went right down to the wire following Nelson and Waimea’s 5-5 draw in the final round.

The result left the two teams equal on 13 points with four wins and one draw, however Nelson’s superior goal differential, having scored 65 goals and conceded just eight, saw them take the title.

Though the senior format was a straight round robin, the eight-team junior competition featured semifinals and a final. The junior grade was won by Waimea, who beat Nelson 3-0 in the final.

Nelson College won the Tasman secondary schools futsal championships.

Leave a Reply